Diane F. Merritt, MD

Emeritus Faculty
Pediatric & Adolescent Gynecology
Professor, Ob/Gyn

Dr. Merritt is Professor Emerita of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis and served as an attending physician at St. Louis Children’s Hospital, and Barnes Jewish Hospital for four decades. She is the recipient of numerous awards and was consistently ranked as a Best Doctor in America and America’s Top Doctor. She is a fellow of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and served as chair of the Committee on Adolescent Health Care. She was a founding member of the North American Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology and served on the board and as president. She was the Chief of the Division of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology at Washington University through 2019, and directed a fellowship program in Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology for two decades. Dr. Merritt was a consultant for the Beautiful You MRKH Foundation and has expertise in the care of women born with congenital absence (atresia) of the uterus and vagina (MRKH). She has expertise in the management of menstrual suppression and cycle control for patients with developmental disabilities and underlying medical disorders. She is also an expert in the management of congenital anomalies of the reproductive tract as well as genital injuries and repair. Dr. Merritt retired from clinical practice in 2020, but remains active in her professional organizations, serves on the Editorial Advisory Board for the Journal of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology, and continues to mentor and teach.

Distinguished Faculty Award, Distinguished Service Teaching Award, the Humanism in Medicine Award, Alumni Achievement Award
Alpha Omega Alpha
Best Doctor in America 1996-2020 America’s Top Doctor 2000-2020

American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ACOG), Fellow 1985 – present American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM), 1986 – present North American Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (NASPAG), 1987 – present