Awards & Recognition News Residency

2023 Residency Graduation and Awards

We said goodbye to residents, welcome some back as fellows, and introduced a whole new team of interns! Read about the awardees below.

Our Rothman Research Symposium is comprised of 2 half days where our residents, fellows, and basic science trainees present their OBGYN-related research projects which they have diligently worked on for a long time. A distinguished panel of our own select faculty and guest speaker evaluates these presentations. We will present the 1st place award in 3 categories: residency, fellowship, and basic science.

Resident Awardee – Kati Turner
Fellowship Awardee – Amanda Compadre
Basic Science Award – Patty Strutz, Anesthesiology Resident

Highest CREOG Score

Annually, our residents take a national standardized exam that we fondly refer to as “CREOGs.” We honor the resident amongst all classes who received the highest score.

Elizabeth Buckley

Chief Resident Teacher of the Year

We give an award to the chief resident who has the overall highest rating of being an effective teacher to our WashU medical students from this past year.

Drew Hensel 

Kody Kunda Resident Teaching

Kody Kunda is a former alumnus of our residency program in generalist private practice in Texas who wanted excellent resident teaching to be honored. This award is voted upon by all residents.

Drew Hensel
Jinai Bharucha       

ASCCP Resident Award

The ASCCP organization is focused on improving lives through the prevention and treatment of HPV-related diseases. This award was created to honor a 3rd-year resident in OBGYN who has shown outstanding research, academic, or clinical potential.

Caroline Min

Ryan Resident Award

The Ryan Program is dedicated to OBGYN residency abortion and family planning training. This award honors a resident who is recognized for their continued dedication to complex family planning.

Kati Turner

SASGOG Resident Award

SASGOG is an organization dedicated to the work of academic generalist OBGYNs. This award is given to recognize a 3rd or 4th-year resident who has distinguished themselves in the practice of general OBGYN.

Jinai Bharucha

AOA (Alpha Omega Alpha)

Tamara Cameo

SGO Outstanding Resident

The Society of Gyn Oncology recognizes a single resident at each program who best exemplifies the qualities of the SGO’s mission and vision. This award is given to a 2nd-year resident.

Elizabeth Buckley

AAGL Excellence in Minimally Invasive Gynecology

Recognizes a resident who demonstrates leadership qualities and an exceptional commitment to empowering progress in minimally invasive gynecologic surgery. This award goes to a 3rd and 4th-year resident.

Vanessa Fuentes

SLS Outstanding MIGS Resident

The Society of Laparoscopic & Robotic Surgeons gives an award to a resident surgeon from each program who demonstrates excellence in minimally invasive gynecology.

Caroline Min 

SMFM Resident Award

The Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine awards a single resident for their excellence in OB care and who shares the vision to improve pregnancy and perinatal outcomes.

Shannon Beermann

Fellow Teacher of the Year Award

This award is dedicated to a graduating fellow across our 5 fellowships whom the residents awarded as the best fellow teacher.

Shaina Bruce

SASGOG Faculty Award

The Society for Academic Generalists recognizes generalist OBGYN committed to excellence in the clinical care of women and the career development of academic specialists.

Ashley Veade   

CREOG National Award for Excellence in Resident Education

The Council on Residency Education awards a faculty member from each program for excellence in teaching residents.

Jennifer Reeves

Support Staff Award

Jarrett BenfordPatient Service Rep Lead, OB/GYN clinic, Barnes-Jewish hospital ambulatory services

Community Faculty Award

Erin King, Hope Clinic

Where are they headed?

  • Jinai Bharucha, MD
    HealthPartners OB-GYN in St. Paul, Minnesota at Regions Hospital
  • Tamara Cameo, MD
    Icahn School of Medicine/Mt. Sinai​, Fellowship, Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery
  • Whitney Grither, MD, PhD
    Washington University SOM, Fellowship, Gynecologic Oncology
  • Drew Hensel, MD
    Washington University SOM, Fellowship, Maternal-Fetal Medicine
  • Lauren Holroyd, MD, MBA
    Laborist at Washington University in St. Louis, Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Alison Kosmacki, MD
    Washington University SOM, Fellowship, Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery
  • Lauren Kus, MD
    Icahn School of Medicine/Mt. Sinai, Fellowship, Family Planning
  • Mark Valentine, MD, PhD
    Washington University SOM, Fellowship, Gynecologic Oncology
  • Elise Wilson, MD
    UC San Diego, Fellowship, Gynecologic Oncology